Life with grace and faith…

A year in the life of a Christian preschool teacher in a Muslim school

Mice in the Mosque October 13, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — meganrsmith @ 4:30 pm

So if you know me at all, you probably also know that I have a pretty serious fear of mice, rats, squirrels, chipmunks… really any kind of rodent, but especially mice and rats. Today was not my day as far as that was concerned.

Here we are, having a wonderful day (I had 10 kids absent today… I hope they’re all ok and all, but seriously, it was beautiful having only 11!) and we went over to the cafeteria for lunch. We were the first group in the cafeteria, so we went into our little area with the little tables and little chairs and started to eat. I went over to get the couple hot lunches my students had ordered and here “Sister, there’s a mouse over there!” AHHHHH!!!! I freaked out… I was proud of myself for not jumping up on to the table next to me. One of the cafeteria workers pointed to the middle of the room where a pile of prayer rugs were and said that there was another 10 or so under them. She was moving them to move the tables and they had all scattered back under the rugs.

Ok, seriously. SOOOOO GROSSS!!!! I’m proud I kept my composure as well as I did.

Apparently there have been mice in the cafeteria for some time… no one has bothered to do anything about it. (Sick. I’m one phone call away from the department of health.)

And apparently, there have been mice in the classrooms upstairs too.

And apparently they dont’ want me to stay sane this year. Cause one thing’s for sure… if those little mice scurry their way into my classroom, all hell WILL break loose. Don’t doubt me.

The assistant principal said they’ll be getting humane traps because she doesn’t want to hurt them. (Islamic code- Don’t hurt anything Allah has created.) I say GET THE GOSH DARN EXTERMINATOR IN THERE!!!  For real! This is a school cafeteria! If we have that big of a problem some drastic actions need to be taken.

SO gross. I have goose bumps just thinking about it.

The early childhood department decided it would be better to eat in our classrooms.

That’s great and all, but if we already have a mouse problem I REALLY don’t want to invite them over to my room. I will be deep cleaning EVERYDAY to make sure there is not a crumb for those little nasties to chew on.

UGH!!! YUCK!!!

 

2 Responses to “Mice in the Mosque”

  1. Julie Says:

    so sorry about the mice! i’m surprised they aren’t in any big hurry to do something about it – i would think mice would be considered wayyyyyy unclean in their book!!!


Leave a comment