Life with grace and faith…

A year in the life of a Christian preschool teacher in a Muslim school

I already did, but… October 9, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — meganrsmith @ 4:39 pm

“Simon said, “Master, we’ve been fishing hard all night and haven’t caught even a minnow. But if you say so, I’ll let out the nets.” It was no sooner said than done- a huge haul of fish, straining the nets past capacity. They waved to their partners in the other boat to come help them. The filled both boats, nearly swamping them with the catch. Simon Peter, when he saw it, fell to his knees before Jesus. “Master, leave. I’m a sinner and I can’t handle this holiness. Leave me to myself.” When the pulled in that catch of fish, awe overwhelmed Simon and everyone with him. It was the same with James and John, Zebedee’s sons, coworkers with Simon. Jesus said to Simon, ” There is nothing to fear. From now on, you’ll be fishing for men and women.” The pulled their boats up on the beach, left them, nets and all, and followed him.”        -Luke 5:5-11, The Message

As I was reading this last night a whole bunch of things hit me.

Admittedly, it’s been a while since I’ve read this story and it was the first time I’ve ever read it in this translation so that could definitely be a part of the reason, but I truly believe God was speaking to me through his word.

  1. When Peter (or Simon) is first told to put his nets out, he does but not without first making a point to say that he’d already been there, done that. The difference this time is that Jesus was with them. Jesus was in charge. Jesus had it all figured out before he did. Awesome.
  2. When Peter finally did do what he was told, it was even more good than he could handle. It was almost more good than a whole bunch of people could handle. Think of how much good Christians would be able to bring in if only we really did what Jesus asked us to.
  3. Jesus asks us to be a part of his holiness. Peter tried to step away, but nuh uh. Jesus called him back.
  4. Jesus said “come with me and you’ll fish for people” and the fishermen left. Think about it. The left EVERYTHING. That includes the ENTIRE CATCH OF FISH!!! That’s a REALLY BIG deal.
  5. This is our calling too, as Christians. Now all I want is a big people net so I can go catch the men and women!

Today was a better day. Actually the difference in today and yesterday was like night and day. I did have to pack up almost my entire classroom to make sure the kids at the weekend mosque activities don’t come in and terrorize my classroom (It sounds harsh, I know, but its happened before and that IS the right word for it.). I hope it works.

I’m just REALLY glad it’s the weekend.

 

Leave a comment