Life with grace and faith…

A year in the life of a Christian preschool teacher in a Muslim school

Are you listening? October 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — meganrsmith @ 4:57 pm

My kids were NOT listening today. I know they were hearing, they just weren’t listening. I would say something like “go sit on a mat” and they would wander over to the kitchen area. I would say something like “don’t touch that” and that would be the first thing they would touch. A couple kids in particular… I wanted to shake them. I didn’t, but I really wanted to.

It made me wonder when I’m not listening. Maybe it’s to someone talking to me or maybe it’s to what God wants to say… sometimes it’s hard to just shut up and listen up. I’ve tried just being still and listening for God’s voice, but sometimes it doesn’t come that easy. I’ve tried praying about something and waiting for an answer… most of the time it doesn’t come like that either. God speaks in his crazy ways… sometimes through someone else, sometimes through the opportunities that come, sometimes it’s through the Bible, sometimes it’s just something ridiculous when you’re like “Really, God? Is that REALLY what you want?”

The point is that He’s saying stuff.

Are you listening to it?

 

2 Responses to “Are you listening?”

  1. Karen Says:

    Ginny Owens song… ” Who Are You Listening To?”


Leave a comment